Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Dehumidifiers

on June 6, 2015

I spent the first 25 years of my life living in Michigan, where it may feel sticky at times, but I really never knew what humidity could be like until I moved to Virginia, the land of MASSIVE amounts of humidity.  We have a pretty heavy-duty dehumidifier in our basement, and it pulls two or more gallons of water A DAY from the air in our relatively small townhouse.  It’s serious out here!  So while I know that I am regularly grateful for that small appliance of ours, I am really extremely grateful for it.  It works hard for us, and we so very glad that it does!

Completely out of curiosity, I decided to look up the info on who invented the dehumidifier, so I could see how long they’ve been around.  I was shocked to see that it’s since the early 1900’s!  Here I’ve always thought of people a hundred years ago as living without the things we often take for granted.  I’m sure they were a lot more expensive though, so not everyone had them.  =-)  So maybe I should also be grateful that we can afford to have our own humidifier today!  Not just that we have one, but that we have the ability to have one!

All that said, we woke up to 60 degree temps outside this morning, so our windows are wide open right now… and that is blissful too.  =-)

Leave a Reply

