Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Grateful for SO MUCH!! =-)

on January 3, 2015

My heart is overflowing with gratitude for all of the amazing blessings in my life.  There are SO MANY things to be grateful for, in SO MANY ways!

I was in a Bible study a few weeks ago where the lesson was on recognizing that the things we complain about are really just “rich people problems”.  We’re upset when the dishwasher stops working, or when our cars won’t start, or when we run out of bananas.  But SO MANY people in the world don’t have ANY of those things, and their lives are just fine without them.  It’s challenged me, because I think it’s easy for us to be upset/annoyed about things that are really just “rich people problems”.  If we weren’t so blessed in the first place, we wouldn’t even know what it was like to load a dishwasher, or to have a freezer that can make ice cubes (even some of the time), or a million other things.  Starting a blog like this has helped me to stop and be grateful, instead of being irritated about things, but the idea that the things I’m appreciating are “rich people” things has made me want to dig deeper.  I’m not just grateful for the “things” I have, I’m grateful for the people in my life, I’m grateful for the things my kiddos are learning and doing, and I’m excited about being able to share more specifics with you in 2015.  =-)

Happy New Year, and may this be a year filled with gratitude and appreciation – for all of us!

Leave a Reply

