Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Carter’s Dedication

on March 11, 2014

This was such a special morning, and my heart is completely full.  =-)  We had the privilege of being able to dedicate our little guy this morning, and decided to hold the dedication as part of my Tuesday morning Bible study.  People came from my Thursday morning Bible study (yes, I am part of two different groups), from my Sunday night Foundations group (the group that has been working through the entire Bible for the past year and a half), and from our church in general.  Because our family is all so far away (so they weren’t going to be able to come), I invited the people who celebrated Carter before he was ever born, because somehow, I felt like those were the people who cared about him the most.  The people I texted from the hospital with the news that they were keeping me after an appointment and I was going to have the baby that night.  The people who sent me encouraging texts after he arrived.  The people who sent me notes in the mail, because they knew how much I loved mail.  =-)  The ones who prayed with me and for me and for this little guy… who came early and in a way that wasn’t exactly the plan, but who arrived healthy and happy and in perfect condition.  =-)  Those are the people who came today, and joined with my Tuesday morning Bible study ladies, who also cared and prayed and loved both of us… and like I said, it was a special morning and my heart is full!  In case you’re wondering, while my Bible study is a group of ladies and it could have been a little bit odd for my poor hubby to be the only guy (apart from our pastor), there were actually a few other guys who came.  And I’m grateful for that.  It wasn’t just about gathering women, it was gathering the people who care about Carter, to be there as we dedicated him to the Lord.  =-)

While lots of people took pictures, I don’t have any yet… so I’ll update this post with pictures as soon as I have them.  For now, just think about a whole bunch of happy people gathering together with a baby who was full of jabbers and wiggles!  Ha ha!  


Leave a comment