Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Giggle-Fests!

on March 10, 2014

I participated in a conference this past week (Thursday night, Friday night, and all day Saturday) and at one point we were asked to do an exercise where we closed our eyes and thought about a happy memory or experience in our lives.  Then we were directed to ask Jesus where He was in that memory.  I had a hard time coming up with a happy thought, something that made me happy, because I feel like my life in general is pretty happy.  But what stood out to me were the times when my little guys are both giggling – one will start, then the other will join in, and the giggle-fest can last quite awhile after that!  It’s really pretty great.  =-)  So I’m picturing both guys giggling at each other and I asked Jesus where He was in that experience.  I’m not sure what I expected – maybe standing in a certain location in the room, or watching or something like that… but the response I got was so clear.  It was “I was giggling with them”.  That was profound for me, because in all the Bible stories about Jesus, in all the movies and books that talk about Jesus and portray Him and His disposition/behavior/attitude, I have never thought about Him giggling.  I can picture Him smiling with me over things, but I’ve never even thought that Jesus gets the giggles too.  Have you?  I was touched by it, and later on I talked with the lady I sat by through the whole conference (she and I are in a weekly Bible study together, so we already “knew” each other) and I told her about that experience.  Her eyes got all teary and she said that it was beautiful and she had never thought of Jesus that way either.  I know He loves the little children, but He doesn’t just love them – he giggles with them.  =-)  What a great picture!

All that to say that I’m grateful for a Lord who not only loves me, but loves my children too… and in a way that’s on their level… like it is for each of us. He loves us where we’re at, and just like we know he feels sorrow over things in our lives (based on Scripture), we need to know that Jesus isn’t “above” giggle-fests.  =-)   I hope that will be encouraging to you!

Leave a Reply

