Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Incredibly Touched

on January 20, 2014

Image

 

I am currently in my second year of a two year in-depth study of the Bible, called Foundations.  The first year was through the entire Old Testament.  This year is through the entire New Testament.  It’s a lot of work and takes a lot of time (often reading a book in just a week!), but it is such a rewarding class to be a part of.  Truly.  The relationships I’ve built with my classmates have been some of the best I’ve had with anyone since we moved to Virginia over seven years ago.  In this group we share prayer requests, laughter, tears, and the insight we each have gained during the week in our study times.  It’s the first time I’ve been able to look at the Bible as a “textbook” – like something I would have studied in college.  We dig and often dig deep… but at the same time, we really do learn.  My little group is regularly nine people.  Two people leading the class, two couples, and three ladies.  =-)  The lady who has been my “table mate” since class started is someone I didn’t know at all before we wound up sharing a table together… but she has become such a dear friend to me.  We email, text, meet up for breakfast – she really is my friend.  Yesterday morning (as we sat side by side in church), I pointed out to her that my name was in the bulletin (because my birthday is on Friday, and our church lists all the birthdays for the week in the bulletin).  I was just showing her – I really didn’t think anything about it afterwards.  But last night she completely surprised me with the blessing of a cake.  Not only did she take the time to make a cake (even while she had company in the house with her!), but she piped the green frosting on the edges, and then took the time to write “Happy Birthday Krysta”.  I was (and still am!) incredibly touched.  It’s been a VERY long time since I last got a cake with my name on it… and for her to take the time to do that for me was truly a huge blessing.  I am still getting teary-eyed as I write this, even now. 

It’s often very easy to notice the things we don’t have, but right now, I am grateful that I have a friend who cares about me like she does.  I really, really am. 

Leave a Reply

