Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

gifts from the heart

on April 25, 2013

Last night, I received one of the most thoughtful gifts I could have received, from a lady who has been friend for many, many years.  She was my AWANA (a Scripture memory program that’s popular in many churches) leader for quite awhile, but I know she was my leader for sure in 6th grade.  After 6th grade, we started going to a new church, but she and I kept in touch – mainly via letters written back and forth (not emails, but the kind of letters you write by hand).  It’s been many years since I was in 6th grade (which makes me feel super old!!), and she’s been there for me through a lot in my life – jr. high, high school, mission trips, undergrad, internships, grad school, first (big) job, meeting my husband, our wedding and move across the country, my stroke, our first miscarriage, my little guy being born, and our second miscarriage… and all that time, she has continued to love and care about me, just like she did when I was in 6th grade and working so hard on memorizing verses.

What touched me most about the gift she sent was that it included two parts – an outfit that says “little brother” on it (which is so cute), and a handmade blanket that is really adorable.  By sending those two things (along with a handmade card!), she showed that she cares deeply about this baby – and about me.  I know she has been praying from very early on for this baby, and I feel certain that her prayers were sewn into the blanket too.  I am so very grateful for that.

We all have people who impact our lives in different ways, and who make a difference for us.  I have been blessed to have quite a few people over the years who really stand out for me.  I only pray that I can be a blessing in someones life, like these people have been in mine.  This lady, my very dear friend, is definitely one of them.  What a blessing her gifts were to receive!

 

Leave a Reply

