Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Appreciating what I have…

on March 3, 2013

… and learning to appreciate what I don’t have too.  It kind of goes hand in hand.  You can’t truly be grateful for what you have if you’re always wanting something “new” or something “else” or something “different”.  This journey into learning how to appreciate things, even the tedious, mundane things, has made me think a lot about how important it is to recognize that there’s a reason God gave me what He did.  And there’s a reason why He hasn’t given me anything else.  It could be because it’s not time, but it could also be because I’m not supposed to have it.  Like a box of hot tamales (which would be so yummy right now), that I don’t have and probably don’t need to have, since I’d eat the whole box.  Anyone else know what that’s like?  =-)

I want to be the kind of person who can be grateful for little things, but I also want to just be thankful for what I have – in general.  I think that’s what God wants from us, and that’s what I want to model to my kiddos.

Leave a Reply

