Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

Draw the Circle: Day 8

on February 27, 2013

“One God-idea is worth more than a thousand good ideas.  Good ideas are good, but God-ideas change the course of history.”

– Draw the Circle, Day 8

Do we actively seek to know what God’s ideas are in our daily lives?  I often pray for the things on my list: family, friends, people in my church/Bible studies, etc… but how often do I really ask God for His ideas, His thoughts on changing the circumstances?  If I’m honest, it’s pretty rare that I talk to God like that.  I ask for His help, but not for His ideas.  How much could my life change if that became a daily prayer of mine? 

This week, I’m really working on my prayer life, trying to pray more in line with what God would want me to pray.  I don’t believe that prayer has to be said a certain way in order to be heard or responded to… I talk to God like I’m talking to a friend, even when I wake up through the night, to talk about what’s going on and ask Him to be with the people that He places on my heart/mind.  But if I really believe that God can do anything (which I truly do!), than why don’t I ask for more?  Not necessarily for me, but in general?  God can work everything out – and He always, always does.  So why don’t I pray like that? 

I’m still working on it, and I have a feeling I will be working on it for the rest of my life.  Right now, I am grateful that God still loves me and is there for me, even when my thoughts and ideas are way too little for what He wants.  I do pray that He would help me to think even bigger than I have been though, to be able to pray for His ideas, and not just for answers to my ideas. 

Leave a Reply

