Gratitude and Appreciation

my journey into being thankful for what i have

my attitude…

on February 4, 2013

… you are what you think, right?  Or something like that.  =-)  It’s important that you fill your mind with happy thoughts, because if you don’t, you wind up being a grumpy person, who isn’t happy about anything.  I don’t want to be that way!  I really don’t!  But I do still struggle over how to be happy at times, when I just can’t find things to be excited about.  I mean, I’m glad the sun is shining, glad that the weather is nice, glad for giggles from my little guy…  but I still struggle.  And I’m not going to post things that I’m grateful for if I’ve spent large portions of the day irritated or frustrated.  That doesn’t seem like I’m being “real” if I do that.  It’s not like the act of having a blog to show gratitude wipes out all the irritations of my life, although I wish that could be the case.  In the midst of the things that are bad, I am trying to see the good though.  I’m just not doing very well with it right now – hence the long period of silence.  =-(

2 responses to “my attitude…

  1. Mandy S says:

    But sometimes you need to recognize the grateful in order to dispel the frustration. So I urge you to reconsider this personal caveat, so as to not destroy a potentially useful tool in your emotional toolbox. Take it from a largely depressed person –some days you need all the coping mechanisms you have.

    • Krysta says:

      You have a very good point, my dear friend. Maybe I should post the seemingly “small” things anyways – even if it seems silly to do that in the moment. I agree that we do have to try hard to find good things in some days, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try. It just means that it’s more of a struggle those days than others. I’ll keep working on it. I’m a work in progress too! =-)

Leave a Reply

